97 villages exempt  from paddy schedule

97 villages exempt from paddy schedule

Tribune Information Service

Archit Watts

Muktsar, Could 18

With an intention to reduce the burden on electrical energy and preserve underground water,

the state authorities has introduced the revised schedule for staggered transplantation of paddy with standard methodology. Nevertheless, 97 villages in Muktsar, Faridkot, Fazilka, Bathinda and Mansa districts have been exempt from the schedule. Purpose: The land in these villages is waterlogging-hit.

A notification issued by the Agriculture Division, reads: “In compliance with the order of the honourable Punjab and Haryana Excessive Courtroom in varied CWPs and on the premise of requests of residents of villages acquired formally, groups of the bottom water cell of the Division of Agriculture and Farmer Welfare had inspected or surveyed the land in villages concerning the character of waterlogging…. the Governor of Punjab is happy to declare the land of Sri Muktsar Sahib, Faridkot, Fazilka, Bathinda and Mansa villages as waterlogged underneath Part 3(3)(c) and the world of those villages is exempt from the purview of the “Punjab Preservation of Sub-Soil Water Act, 2009” for a interval of two years.”

Rain a fear

Attributable to waterlogging, we now have to sow paddy early in order that earlier than the onset of rains we are able to harvest the crop. Additionally, it helps us to sow the wheat crop well timed. —Gurbhagat Singh Bhallaiana, BKU chief

Gurpreet Singh, Chief Agriculture Officer, Muktsar, mentioned: “As many as 77 villages are exempt in Muktsar district and farmers right here might sow paddy anytime after harvesting the earlier crop. It’s simply because these villages are waterlogging-hit.” Some farmers mentioned the follow was prevalent for the previous few years, but it surely created confusion when the AAP authorities introduced the schedule of paddy sowing this yr.


As per a notification issued by the Agriculture Division, a most of 77 villages have been recognized in Muktsar district, 11 in Faridkot, six in Fazilka, two in Bathinda and one in Mansa as waterlogging-hit.

Supply hyperlink

Leave comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *.

%d bloggers like this: