IGI Delhi bus service fails to take off on its maiden run as just one passenger turns as much as journey

IGI Delhi bus service fails to take off on its maiden run as just one passenger turns as much as journey

Tribune Information Service

Amritsar, June 15

The maiden run of the state authorities’s tremendous luxurious AC Volvo bus service between Punjab and New Delhi’s Indira Gandhi Worldwide Airport on Wednesday proved a moist squib right here because it needed to be cancelled as just one passenger had procured a ticket.

Chief Minister Bhagwant Singh Mann together with Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal flagged off the service from the Jalandhar bus stand on Wednesday.

A 43-seater Volvo bus was to depart for Delhi airport from the holy metropolis at 1.40 pm, but it surely needed to be cancelled on the very first day of its maiden run. The rationale acknowledged was lack of passengers. Just one passenger had booked the seat, that too on-line. Individuals cited the dearth of publicity to intimate the general public upfront of the cheaper journey facility as the rationale behind the tepid response from passengers. It’s prone to supply aid to a lot of NRIs from this space who journey to the IGI airport to board worldwide flights.

Now, two buses will depart the town for Delhi tomorrow. The morning bus will depart for Delhi at 9.20 am and 9 tickets have been offered on-line. 4 tickets have been offered for the subsequent bus that’s to depart at 1.40 pm.

Plying of state owned buses on the Amritsar-Delhi route despatched personal transporters into tizzy as they really feel competitors to be extra intense, tilting in favour of passengers, within the coming weeks. The federal government is providing luxurious journey on the route for simply Rs 1,380 per particular person for a aspect. Efforts to get contact HS Gill, Normal Supervisor, Punjab Roadways, Amritsar-II, to substantiate the event proved futile as regardless of repeated calls he couldn’t be contacted.

Supply hyperlink

Leave comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *.

%d bloggers like this: